WCAG 2.2 A Comprehensive Guide for US Companies

Navigating WCAG 2.2: A Comprehensive Guide for USA Companies

In an era where the digital landscape has become an integral part of our lives, ensuring that websites and online content are accessible to everyone, regardless of ability, is of paramount importance. The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.2 provide a comprehensive framework for achieving this accessibility. This guide aims to empower US companies by providing a detailed understanding of WCAG 2.2 and how it can be navigated effectively to create inclusive digital experiences.

Understanding WCAG 2.2

WCAG 2.2, developed by the Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) of the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), is a set of guidelines designed to make web content more accessible to people with disabilities. It outlines four key principles: Perceivable, Operable, Understandable, and Robust (POUR), and is organized into three levels of conformance – A, AA, and AAA.


Perceivability ensures that information and user interface components must be presented in a manner that is perceptible to all users, regardless of their abilities. Key considerations include:

  • Alternative Text: Providing descriptive text for images, enabling screen readers to convey the content to visually impaired users.
  • Captioning and Transcripts: Ensuring multimedia content has accurate captions or transcripts for those with hearing impairments.


Operability entails designing a website that is easy to navigate and interact with for all users. This includes:

  • Keyboard Accessibility: Ensuring all features, links, and functions can be accessed and operated using a keyboard alone, making it usable for those who cannot use a mouse.
  • Avoiding Time Limits: Offering user controls for any content that has a time limit, allowing individuals to adjust it based on their needs.


An accessible website presents content in a clear and understandable manner. This includes:

  • Clear Language and Structure: Using plain language and consistent structure to make information easily digestible.
  • Error Handling: Providing clear instructions and feedback to help users correct any mistakes they might make while using forms or interactive elements.


A robust website is one that can adapt and evolve with changing technologies. This involves:

  • Technology Compatibility: Ensuring that the website’s code and content are compatible with current and future assistive technologies.

WCAG Conformance Levels

WCAG 2.2 offers three levels of conformance, each representing a different degree of accessibility:

  • Level A (Basic Compliance): Addresses the most fundamental accessibility features. Conforming to Level A is considered the minimum level of accessibility.
  • Level AA (Intermediate Compliance): Provides a higher level of accessibility, covering a broader range of users. This is the standard for most websites.
  • Level AAA (Advanced Compliance): Represents the highest level of accessibility, offering an even greater degree of support for users with disabilities.

Benefits of WCAG 2.2 Compliance for US Companies

  1. Legal Compliance: Ensuring WCAG 2.2 compliance helps companies meet legal requirements, including those outlined in the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
  2. Expanding Audience Reach: Accessible websites cater to a broader demographic, including individuals with disabilities and older users who may have specific accessibility needs.
  3. Enhancing Brand Image: Demonstrating a commitment to accessibility fosters a positive brand image, showcasing a company’s dedication to inclusivity and user-centricity.
  4. Improving SEO: Many WCAG 2.2 guidelines align with good SEO practices. Implementing accessibility features can lead to improved search engine rankings.
WCAG 2.2 A Comprehensive Guide for US Companies

Implementing WCAG 2.2 in Your Company

  1. Conduct an Accessibility Audit:
    • Begin by assessing your website’s accessibility to identify areas that require improvement.
  2. Prioritize Compliance Levels:
    • Determine the appropriate level of compliance (A, AA, or AAA) based on your company’s goals, audience, and legal obligations.
  3. Adopt Accessible Design Practices:
    • Integrate accessible design principles from the outset of any web development or content creation process.
  4. Regular Testing and Maintenance:
    • Continually test your website with a variety of assistive technologies to ensure ongoing compliance.
  5. Provide Ongoing Training:
    • Educate team members involved in web development, content creation, and design about accessibility best practices.

By navigating WCAG 2.2 effectively, US companies can not only meet legal requirements but also create a digital environment that is inclusive and welcoming to all users. Prioritizing accessibility is not just a compliance issue; it’s a fundamental aspect of providing exceptional user experiences in the digital age.

We Offer Web & Mobile Accessibility Testing

We at ‘Accessible Zone‘ provide web, mobile and software accessibility testing services. We perform testing manually using screen reader such as JAWS, NVDA & Voiceover. We also provide VPAT and ACR reports. If you want to use our services do contact us as at contact@accessiblezone.com or you can also schedule a free call with us from here.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *